About a month ago my cousin told me her father (also my cousin) was opening a natural hair salon. I'm no big fan of his so I didn't get too excited.
So after my cousin mentioning the salon several times and that her fathers' girlfriend was gonna be the H.C.I.C. (head chick in charge) I gave in.
The salon is in Baltimore on Belair Rd. upstairs over a bar. He did a pretty good job with the decor and space.
Seeing as how I had never met this chick or seen any of her work (and I was in a pinch) I went for something simple: two strand twists. First, she shampooed my hair twice, I didn't recall any conditioner, unless it was one and one. Then she sat my at her booth and turned my back to the mirror. I felt her combing my hair but it didn't feel right, homegirl was NOT using a wide tooth comb! Then, she started parting as if she were ready to start twisting. I asked "do you twist wet or dry?" She replied "it's up to you, either or, but usually wet." I told her I preferred dry (I like the length) and she said "I'll blow-dry half way." I had no time to debate with this chick and since she's the stylist I let her do her. When she began to blow dry she was still using a comb that wasn't large enough and pulling on my damn hair, I was not very pleased.
She twisted fairly quickly. Others coming in and out were commenting on how good it looked so I was expecting a winning style. When she got close to the front she asked which side did I want my part. I told her I usually don't part, just go straight back for multiple styles. Homegirl did my front parts so freaking huge that when I looking in the mirror I thought she flat twisted the front row. It was something different but I was so ready to go so I just went with it. My hair was shiny and my ends had coiled up perfectly...or so I thought.
After I got home, had a nap and carefully examined my hair, I was pissed! I had big ass parts in the front row, about 70% of my ends coiled properly, the other 30% were bushy and the twists were 2-3 different sizes! She kept asking me to come pass her and my cousins' place so she take pics and at first I agreed. Then I realized she puts her "work" on Facebook and I was NOT tryna be on FB looking all jacked up.
My two strands usually last about a month, with 2 mild shampoos. I got my hair done 2 weeks ago, shampooed last week and I'm removing the twists as I type. I don't exactly know what method she used but my twists were damn near unraveled...after 2 weeks. My hair looks like unkept locs. I'm pissed! That $65 + $5 tip was 3 weeks worth of gas, or a weeks worth of groceries & house supplies, or a new pair of shoes! You get the idea.
So the moral of this story, If you have not seen some work or gotten a referral, just don't waste your time.
No comments:
Post a Comment